The Slop – The Workshop Weapon from The Workshop in Glen Huntly Rd. 8/10

by sjbgilmour

After doing a round of indent orders for the day job, I felt I deserved a burger (even though I had waaay too much of Miss9’s birthday celebratory party food over the last week.)  So, up to The Workshop in Glen Huntly Rd, I went, along with my brother.  They offered us a menu.  We declined, just saying we’d have the burger.  What we got was the Workshop Weapon. IMG_3431[1]

Prime grilled wagyu beef, tomato, salad, cheese, onion rings,  chimichurri mayo in a brioche bun, served with herbed chips, and pickles.

Pros:

  • The patty-to-bun ration was spot on.  No sloppy half-empty sides of the burger.
  • The “chimchurri” mayo (I ha dto Google it.  It’s a   dunno what it is either) tasted pretty awesome.
  • Wagyu.  In dietary terms, lean is good, but in the burger world it’s fat that cuts the mustard.  Forget your heart-smart lean mince.  Go for a nice fatty cut and you’ll get a yummy, juicy patty every time.
  • The chips were great.
  • The fancy bun.  Looked impressive, and wasn’t lacking in flavour either.
  • Melted cheese.  The fact that they use Wagyu beef, and know to melt the cheese on the patty while it’s on the grill, all point to some talent underneath the apron.  These guys know how to make a burger *.

Cons:

  • The fancy bun.  I know it was in the Pros for flavour, but being a brioche, it was also a little on the sweet side.
  • The pickles.  They look nice in a little pile, but really, I’d rather my pickles be in the burger, unless they’re the real good polski ogorki kind you get at a good Jewish deli.
  • * Onion rings.  Seriously?  I mean they added a nice crunch, but again they made what could have been a spectacular burger a tad on the sweet side.  Sure, put onions in a burger.  In fact, add some bacon or relish while you’re at it.  Just don’t bother to coat them in batter and deep fry them.

So, all up, a much better burger than the Boss Hog burger from Hog’s Breath which I reviewed the other day, but still a little off being a true masterpiece.  *  Bit disappointed they didn’t go the full monty and show off that talent as per my comments about onion rings.  That said, I’m now about to lapse into a food coma, so if you’ll excuse me, I need to go lie down…

Sam

