My Social Media Ettiekwettie

by sjbgilmour

The etiquette lists.  We’ve all seen them.  Do this, don’t do that.  Blah, blah.  Jesus, they’re annoying.  Well, I’m not gonna sit here and preach at you about what you should be doing.  Instead, I’ll just tell you about some simple little guidelines I’ve kind of made up along the way.  They seem to work okay for me.

What I do.

I try to engage with people who friend, follow or circle me.  It’s harder on G+, ‘cos quite frankly, the latest build of that thing is a complete schemozzle.

I thank people for accepting my friend requests.

I ‘like’ most pages put to me – even when the person spruiking said page is being uber pushy about it, which is actually kind of rude.

I post and talk about stuff I’m interested in and that I find entertaining and or funny.

Also, I post news about reviews I get, any new release of mine, blog posts like this one, and promotions I have going.

BUT

I don’t shove my page in people’s faces.  If they’re so inclined, they can find it pretty easily.  There are links here, there and everywhere.  (see what I did there?)

I don’t constantly post or tweet the same boring message of ‘Buy my book!’  Fuck me, that’s annoying.

I try not to overshare.  You know what I mean.  There’s a lot of dirty laundry being aired out there, and, really, some of it should just be kept private.

I don’t carry on with that ‘poor me’ shit either.  Actually, I’d rather share those embarrassing moments when I demonstrate to myself and the rest of the world, that I truly am an unco dork.  That kind of thing is a lot more endearing than people moaning about how life’s done them wrong.

Pretty simple, huh?

Sam

 

