A Slight Change In Direction…

by sjbgilmour

My adventure in self-publishing sure has had a few surprises.  I had no idea how easy it would be.  Nor did I have any clue about promotion (and I’m still very fuzzy in that area!) or blog tours.

Another thing I didn’t know was just how much market share Amazon had.  Putting my work out through Smashwords, and then on to Barnes & Noble, Sony, iTunes etc sounded great, but to do date, I’ve received $18.24.  I’m not joking.  That’s the entire amount I’ve made through Smashwords and its other channels.  With Amazon, I’ve earned thousands.

So, I’m slowly pulling all my work from Smashwords and its channels, and sticking with KDP (Kindle Direct Publishing) Select.   This might bug a few readers who can only work with epub files, but then I haven’t sold that many through B&N, so it’s kinda moot.

And another thing…

Armies of Nine, Book Three of The Adventures of Sarah Coppernick is being processed now.  I expect it to be live on Amazon some time within the next 12-24 hrs.

Sam

