Five Stars To The Short That Started It All – The Department

by sjbgilmour

 

A while back, I wrote a short story.  I had no idea what to do with it.  Then, the phenomenon that is self-publishing was born.  I signed onto Smashwords and sent my little story out into the world.  You know what?  It didn’t hurt.  It was exhilarating, but painless.  So, I signed on to Amazon KDP and released it through there too.  Once I’d worked out how the whole thing worked, I went on to write and release more stories.  I love them all, and they all mean different things to me, but The Department will always have a special spot in my heart.  It was my firstborn literary creation.  And, it’s still getting nice reviews, like this one:

“I thoroughly enjoyed this little story. I found it witty, funny, and a little insightful. Big drawback is that it is way too short. I was really digging into it, reading it as though I had no where else to be, and suddenly it ended! It was how I imagine women making love with young men must feel. I was like, “hey, I was really starting to enjoy that!”  Oh well, I have found that he has full length books, and the writing is just as wonderful.”

Aren’t I lucky?

Sam

 

 

 

 

