My Young Gryffindor’s First Year At Hogwarts

by sjbgilmour

Last night Miss6 and I celebrated our first year at Hogwarts.  There were a few raised eyebrows when we announced our enrollment a week or so ago, but after braving Middle Earth with Bilbo and co, I was sure she’d rise to the challenge.  And rise she did.

We stood up to the bullying Dudley Dursley, and endured his horrible parents.  We embraced Hagrid in all his huge hairiness.  We faced-off with Malfoy and Snape.  Quidditch was a thrill; we cheered and crowed with every goal and every time we caught the Snitch.

Ron and Hermione became our best buddies and together, we braved the Forbidden Forest.  Eventually, we snuck past a three-headed dog, battled Devil’s Snare, caught flying keys, played the most frightening game of Wizard Chess ever, and drank magic potions.

Then we faced the sum of all our fears – Voldemort – and won.  The House Cup was awarded to Gryffindor, the world was saved, and then we went home for the holidays.

As I read the last lines of the last chapter, my brave young Gryffindor was on the edge of the couch.  Tonight we’ll start Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets.  I’m not sure which one of us is more excited.  When I first read Rowling’s wonderful series, it was great, but to me, just another Young Adult read.  Now, it’s far more thrilling.

If you’ve got kids and haven’t read Harry Potter to them, do.

Sam

 

