Guest Spot – Jason Maurer

by sjbgilmour

Right.  I’ve been abroad for the day-job for the last couple of weeks.  Some of that trip has been fun, others, not so much.  The interesting food, people and sights are great, but the lack of reliable internet has been a real bummer.  Especially when I’ve been hanging out to host this guest spot.

Jason Maurer is a writer, reader and he knows how to review a book properly too – something that can’t always be said about writers.  If you’ve never heard of him, look him up.  All his work is here on Amazon.  As for the rest that Jason’s got to say, well here he is to tell it himself:

I was asked to write a non-sequiter for a question to which I would normally reply “No Comment”. However, my life is an open book and I have no qualms about answering any question that it thrown my way. Therefore, I’ve decided instead to talk a little bit about what it means for me to be happy.

 What is happiness? For me, it means being alive, enjoying myself as much as possible, and immersing myself in the lives of my characters.

 Writing makes me happy. It makes me feel better because it’s a form of therapy. I write about myself, and the things I’m feeling at that moment in time.

 The course of my writing varies in genre, from happy-go-lucky romance and fairy-tales to dark, depressing and foreboding, with everything in between. The content is dependent upon my mood, but whatever the case may be it allows me the expression of my inner demons.

 The writing process itself is what takes its toll. I find I can write with no problem- it’s the strain and hassle of getting from point A to point B, when point B is 40,000+ words away. The stories are usually finished inside my brain; it’s the act of getting them from brain cell to computer screen. I’ve often said that someone should invent a machine that can read our thoughts and immediately transcribe them for us. This would take the writing process down from a few months/years to a few days or weeks.

 When I’m in that fantasy world filled with characters, it makes the writing process easier to imagine them standing around, telling their stories. I’m merely the secretary taking dictation, or so it seems sometimes. Not everyone writes like this, and I’ve been called crazy for the way it happens but that’s just the way it works best.

 My characters are real. At least, as real as they can be considering the circumstances. No, they do not hold conversations with me, and no they don’t really exist, it just makes the writing process easier for me to imagine them as real personas. 

Perhaps I’m merely going crazy and need a padded cell somewhere. Maybe I’ll write something about that, someday. Time will tell. 

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

 Author Bio:

 Jason E. Maurer is the author of several short stories and novels that range in genre from romance to mystery, and everything in between. The work he produces is the result of a mind that can only be defined as ‘eclectic’. 

His latest novel “Trust and Love” is a gay story that centers around the hope for a better future by advocating the “It Gets Better” Campaign, a cause that helps prevent teen suicide. 

Jason lives in central Pennsylvania, and has chosen to dedicate his spare time [which at this point is anytime he is not sleeping] to the pursuit of the American dream on the road to happiness. 

You can find him at http://jasonemaurer.blogspot.com

The links to his extensive list of social media can be found on the “About Me/Links” page of his website.

 Where To Buy “Trust and Love”:

http://www.amazon.com/Trust-and-Love-ebook/dp/B00AS5AEBM/ref=la_B0080HHLPC_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1357198483&sr=1-1

There.  Sorry it took me so long to post this Jason, but most of Europe’s under about two meres of snow right now (I’m in the Frankfurt airport Qantas lounge as I type this, and there’s a strong chance my flight’s gonna be cancelled) and the the internet in my hotels has been dodgy to say the least.

Sam

 

 

 

