Starting My New Year’s Resolution Early

by sjbgilmour

We’ve all got them.  The plans we make to do during the coming year.  Lose weight. Give up this vice or that. Finish that book…

Well mine will be to spend more time with the kids, and to write more.  This pas year I’ve put out three novels and three shorts.  I see no reason I can’t do that again.

I’m also going to get fitter.  Over the last two months, I’ve lost 6 kg’s and managed to increase my exercise – apart from riding my bike, which I do a lot anyway – when it comes to  sit-ups,  push-ups, curls, dips and other exercises.  I’ve got to keep that going and increase it.

With the day-job and writing and kid-time, that means I’ll have to cut out social media time.  I’ve already experimented with that and it’s worked.  I’ve proven to myself that I can do it.  Now I need to do it some more and keep on doing it.

Twitter, FB, G+ – they’re all getting some serious limits.  Twitter – I’m only following writerly folk who follow me, and then only if they actually tweet interesting things instead of just “buy my book!” tweets.  FB’s  getting 10 minutes a day unless I’m involved in a blog tour.  G+ will be used purely as a re-posting board for tweets and FB posts.

So, if you’re following me on Twitter, and suddenly find I’m not following you back any more, you know why.  If you think I’m ignoring you on G+, I am unless you actually engage me in a conversation.  Same goes for FB; you’ll need to engage me if you want my attention, otherwise I’ll mostly just be in and out every now and then and that’s it.

Sam

 

 

