Want A Good Anti-Depressant? Try Fan Mail

by sjbgilmour

So this morning I got to work feeling like crap.  I had no reason for it.  I’d had a good night’s sleep.  My calorie count from the day before was under my target (yes, I’m actually counting calories!) and I knew I had a relatively free day for me to write.  See, that’s the thing with being bi-polar.  It defies logic.  It’s an imbalance of chemicals in my brain that sometimes makes me see the world in dull black and white, saps my energy makes me feel just rotten.  There’s no upside.  I feel  so down it actually hurts.

Other times, I’m on top of the world.  Unstoppable.  You know Don’t Stop Me Now by Queen?  Well multiply that by a thousand and that’s how good I feel when I’m on a high.  Today, I wasn’t on a high.  Until I saw this in my inbox, that is:

“Hello!

I just wanted to drop you a quick note to say that I enjoyed Book 1 & 2 of the Sarah Coppernick series.  I was dismayed when I reached the end and Book 3 wasn’t  available yet.  As I searched the Internet, I found one quote of you saying Book 3, The Armies of Nine, should be ready by Christmas.  Is this true?  If so, what a wonderful present I’ll getting myself!

Bravo!  The books are excellent and I will be lending them to my 12 year old daughter as soon as her book list from school is completed.  I even used the word “chocking” on a few occasions which caused a few raised eyebrows.  It cracked me up when I read the pages that Isaac had a meltdown in and he couldn’t swear. Nicely done Sir!

Continue with your craft.  You do it well. “

(name withheld)

 

Now, let me tell you, my headspace is most definitely in a good place!

Sam

 

