Classic Mythology For Miss6

by sjbgilmour

So Miss6 has cottoned onto the idea that there are a lot more stories from classic mythology for her to hear. I’ve done my best to give her kid-friendly renderings of Theseus and The Minotaur, and Perseus and Medusa, but that’s stretching even my talents of story-telling.

Sooo, I’ve looked online for some kid-friendly literature about classic mythology that she can either read herself, or that I can read to her. Do you know how fucking hard it is to find age-appropriate stuff like this? It’s all either been dumbed down so far it’s only good for 2 year-olds, or it’s for academics.

I’ve hit up my local library, (and thank god for librarians – they’re MY heroes!) and one angel there has promised to not only dig up all she can find for me to sample, but also raid nearby libraries in her network for more. She even went so far as to ask me if I was interested in doing readings for other kids at the library: something I’m seriously considering taking her up on.

In the meantime, I’m still searching for the right material to buy, but failing that… bugger it. I’m writing the stories myself, using all my references, from Wikipedia and Who’s Who of Classic Mythology to Ovid and Homer.

Wish me luck!

