My Biggest Time Consumer

by sjbgilmour

Sometimes it’s easy to forget just why I’m on Facebook and other social media.  Sure, I’ve made some friends.  Sure, I have fun.  But, I’m also on it – and this may sound cynical, and I guess it is –  to grow my platform and readership base so that I can sell more books.  If I’m not careful, it can consume large chunks of my time – time that could be put to better use.  I need to work.  I need to write.  I need to be a husband and a dad.  I need to set myself some stricter limits.  So, I’m going to try adopting a more rigid regime:

  1. Half an hour of social media time in the morning, half an hour at night & only sporadic use throughout the day.
  2. Thank retweeters, sharers & followers, but only do so if I’m actually following them (that’s a saving of at least 10 minutes a day).
  3. Only stay in new FB groups if they have more than 1000 members.  I’ll still join them, but if they’re not growing, then I’ll have to cull them.  I need to meet new people.  Existing groups I’m already in, especially those with lots of my FB friends in, I’ll stick with.

That’s pretty simple, and should be relatively easy to stick to.  Now I’ll admit I’m a bit of a social media junkie, so there may be some withdrawal symptoms.  Of course if there are, then it just means I have a problem and need to cut back anyway.  I’ll give it a go until November.  If it works, I’ll stick with it.  If I need to cut back some more, things will get bloody.

Some online stuff will be harder to cut back.  For example, I’m compulsive about checking my Amazon KDP Reports and Author Central pages for sales figures and to see if there are any new reviews.  I’ll try to only check those when I have my social media time in the morning and evening.

Other online sites are easy for me to cut back.  For example, I really couldn’t give a stuff about Goodreads any more.  I’m on it, but I only check it now about once a week.  Ebaums World and Funny Or Die etc are fun, but again, I only really need to check ’em out every week or so, not every day.  Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have to go see if there’s anything new on IO9.

